Around the Corner…

So earlier today I went to check on my parent’s place because they are out of town.  After checking on the house I was heading home and at the intersection i saw the Taco Bell and decided to stop and get a quick bite to eat.  Well that turned into something different.

I parked in the parking lot of Prime Sirloin, a buffet restaurant i used to work at.  Its been closed for at least eight years now and I suddenly felt a sense of nostalgia,  so i walked around the old restaurant and peeked into the widows and noted how the place still looked as it did when i worked there.  Feeling my nostalgia needs had been met, i walked over to the Taco Bell to get something to eat.  As i walked through the parking lot i saw a black man with three young kids.  A girl and two boys.  I’d say the kids were ages 4 to 6 at best.

When the father noticed me looking at him and his kids i smiled and asked him if all three kids were his.   A married man of any race with three kids feels so rare nowadays so i felt the need to ask him in order to start a conversation that i hoped would end quickly.  After he confirmed that all three kids were his, he asked me if i had any children  I told him that sadly i didn’t, i was 35 and didn’t see much hope that i would marry and have children due to my financial situation.

He told me not to give up and told how at 33 he got married and began having children later.  he told me he had been homeless and on drugs up until that point, but he had found God, and God had blessed him with a good marriage and three children.  He told me i could do the same but i had to first be patient with God.  He told me that God does everything in His own time and that i should be as patient with God as He is with me.  I realized that the man was right.  I hadn’t been patient with God and i needed to be.  If i believed that God would help me then all i had to do is wait.

We talked a little more and we both came to realize that to a certain extent God had set up this meeting so we could receive a blessing from it.  It made me realize that God is still working on me and is still quite patient.

Leave a Reply

